Books > Best Sellers > Parenting & Relationships



Price: $9.99

(as of 2012-10-06 11:09:53 PST)

Parenting & Relationships

Rating: 4.7 / 5.0 (70 votes)

Released: 2012-08-29






Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth

Description

The highest-rated drama in BBC history comes to PBS Presents in September 2012
 
Fans of Downton Abbey and Mad Men have something to look forward to this September with this candid look at post-war London. In the 1950s, twenty-two-year-old Jenny Lee leaves her comfortable home to move into a convent and become a midwife in London's East End slums. While delivering babies all over the city, Jenny encounters a colorful cast of women—from the plucky, warm-hearted nuns with whom she lives, to the woman with twenty-four children who can't speak English, to the prostitutes of the city's seedier side.
            Based on Jennifer Worth's bestselling memoirs and already a bigger hit than Downton Abbey in the U.K., Call the Midwife promises to delight millions of viewers in the U.S.

Check All OffersAdd to Wish ListCustomer Reviews

Book Details

Author: Jennifer WorthPublisher: Penguin BooksBinding: Kindle EditionLanguage: EnglishPages: 352

Similar Books

The Midwife's Here!: The Enchanting True Story of One of Britain's Longest Serving Midwives
A Midwife's Story
Midwife on Call
Yes Sister, No Sister
Lady's Hands, Lion's Heart: A Midwife's Saga


Comments




Become a fan of Fish Eagle Publishing on Facebook for the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive books.